Post from my old website – general

Saturday morning

Posted on August 3, 2014 at 12:10 AM  

Good morning!

It’s another beautiful day here on the Jackson Homestead! I am sitting outdoors listening to the birds and relaxing. There is a gentle breeze and sunshine. Just hoping and praying for rain. The ground is cracked and the leaves on the trees and bushes are drooping. 

I can hear a chicken cluck in the distance. Our chickens are in their coop roosting. Earlier today I walked over to the coop and found five of them sitting on top of the little run. They were clucking and making noises. When they saw me, it was sudden silence! It was funny. It was almost like they were planning an escape.

Another course wraps up tomorrow. This one was on animation and comics. I went into this course with an attitude of UGH! Comic books-graphic novels…I am coming out of this class with a whole new respect for them. I am definitely going to have to read them now. :)

Hope you all have a super wonderful day!

Laurie 8)

 

Enjoying the Weather

Posted on July 10, 2014 at 1:55 PM  

Good Afternoon!

Once again, I am outdoors amongst the chickens. I just love watching them peck the ground. It’s funny to watch when one chicken has a ‘treasure’, the others will try to get it. Growing up on the farm and spending time at my grandparents’ house, I learned that I loved being around chickens. One time, Grandpa had a newborn calf under the barn porch. I’d sit with the calf and pet it for hours. Grandpa told me over and over to stop petting the calf because the mother cow would not take to the calf. Of course, I listened for a bit because it was Grandpa. I’d sneak in the pen, though, to pet the calf. 

I cannot believe it is July and we are having such wonderful weather. I love it! Love having the windows open. Laundry is on the line drying. My wonderful husband is cutting the yard. It is an absolutely gorgeous day!

Another note about the chickens-when Alex closes them up for the night, our thirteen chickens cram themselves into two roosting boxes. (There are more than two roosting boxes in the coop.) Silly chickens!

Have a super wondereful day!

Laurie 8)

 

Outdoors/Chickens

Posted on July 9, 2014 at 6:05 PM  

Hello Everyone!

I am sitting outside watching the chickens scratch and play. These chickens are so much fun to watch. The darn things will eat anything. Last night when I was trying to round them up, one chicken was carrying a very flat dead frog. It kept trying to keep away from the other chickens so they could not get the frog. The frog was nasty! It looked like it had been run over a few hundred times.

Our field we have behind our house was cut and baled in the last few days. The chickens love to run into the field in search of bugs and whatever else they can find. I sure don’t feel like chasing the chickens out of the field. That’s what Elle is for. She loves to chase the chickens into the coop at night. I truly don’t think she would hurt the chickens. She just wants to play with them.

Well, I hope you have a super wonderful day!

Laurie 8)

 

Funny Chickens

Posted on June 25, 2014 at 12:40 AM  

Good morning, Chicken Lovers!

RUN! RUN! Chickens are surrounding me! Haha! Alex opened up the coop and the chickens are loving the free range. Chickens are funny to watch. They run after each other or run up to another just to see what they found. They act just like children. 

I’m thrilled we have them! Looking forward to the eggs and for the rooster to crow. 

Have a super wonderful day!

Laurie 8)

 

Chickens

Posted on June 19, 2014 at 12:20 AM  

Hello Everyone,

Alex opened the coop door to let the chickens range free for a bit this morning. I joined him and it was funny to watch them scratch and play in the grass. Thirteen chickens that act like teenagers. When one found something in the grass, others had to check it out, too. For the most part, they stay together. Once in awhile, one has to investigate farther. One chicken saw that it was alone and started running toward the others. 

I suggested to Alex that we should make a calendar of our chickens, one per month and give them cute names. We may have to work on that idea. When it time to put the chickens away, they followed each other back into the coop. 

I love our chickens.

I hope you have a super wonderful day!

Laurie :)

 

Sunshine :)

Posted on June 17, 2014 at 2:40 PM  

Hello Everyone,

I am sitting outside enjoying the sunshine. I love soaking up the sun. Sure makes me feel better. Sure is windy, though. It’s a great day to hang out laundry. I love the smell of clothes that have been hung outside. 

I’m also waiting for my huggy hubby to come home. He had errands to do in town. I removed some boards from the wall while he’s been gone. We are renovating our home. It’s nothing but fun times! I love the dirt and dust in the house. I know renovations take time. Seeing the work getting done makes me truly happy. I know in the end our home will be beautiful. I can’t wait to show off the place. 

Well, I know I should be writing for school. There are days that I just am not in the mood to do anything. Yesterday I wrote down ideas for a child’s book. Time will tell how long before I start putting the ideas together. :)

Have a wonderful day!

Laurie :)

 

Chickens

Posted on June 12, 2014 at 3:40 PM  

Hello!

Our chickens are getting so big! Their feet or claws look wicked. Some of them are actually beginning to cluck. I love it! I’m still waiting for the rooster to crow. I love that sound. 

Whenever Alex brings them food, they either peck his hands or his feet. Every night when he goes to close them in, he says they were already roosted for the night. Alex made a bigger run for them. There is alot of grass for them to eat and bugs, too. It’s funny to listen to the way Alex talks to the chickens. He talks to them like they are teenagers. It’s cute how the chickens come running when they hear Alex. They follow him around like kids.

Have a wonderful day!

Laurie 8)

 

Chickens

Posted on June 5, 2014 at 11:50 PM  

Hello Everyone!

I thought it was about time for an update on the chickens. My wonderful husband made the run bigger for the chickens. At first they weren’t sure what to do. The area is huge for them to run around and eat the bugs and grass.

Our chickens are getting huge! There is a black one that has a funny hairdo. I think we have one rooster. I love when a rooster crows. 

Have a super day!

Laurie 8)

 

Outdoors

Posted on June 2, 2014 at 12:50 AM  

Good morning! I am outdoors again! I LOVE being outside! Soaking up the sun and enjoying the wind. Feels like the wind is blowing in some rain. I don’t know about you all but we could sure use rain here in mid-Missouri. 

I heard a fire truck scream up the highway a bit ago. Sure hope no one is hurt. In all my 51 years, I have never experienced a fire before. Sure  hope I never do. 

The branches of the tree that I’m sitting beside are creaking in the wind. The tree is not dead but the noises the branches are making are kinda freaking me out. That’s all I need is for a branch to hit me on the head. Haha!

Thank you for stopping by!

Have a wonderful day!

Laurie 8)

 

Guestbook

Posted on May 28, 2014 at 1:25 PM  

Hello! Just wanted to throw this out there. Anyone who stops by to read my blog, please sign the guestbook. I would love to see where you are located.

Thank you!

Have a wonderful day!

Laurie 8)

 

 

Elle and Jethro

Posted on May 28, 2014 at 1:15 PM  

Who are Elle and Jethro? They are our pets. Elle is an energetic Yorkie and Jethro is a yellow cat. Those two together are fun to watch. When they play, Elle usually gets scratched by Jethro. Anyway, Elle barks at anything, even her own shadow. If there are birds in the yard, she’ll bark. She barks even if a blade of grass moves! Jethro is a great mouser. He spends alot of time outdoors. I’m not sure how many mice he has caught so far. 

Have a super day!

Laurie 8)

 

Apology

Posted on May 27, 2014 at 12:40 AM  

Good morning!!! I wanted to apologize to you for not keeping up with my blogs. I have been busy with school.  Two more months to go and I will be finished! Until I decide whether or not to go for my Master’s Degree in writing. I promise to you, though, that I will try to blog everyday.

Thank you!

Laurie 8)

 

Chickens

Posted on May 17, 2014 at 4:00 PM  

Chickens! Chickens! Chickens! My wonderful husband (Alex) and I were out with the chickens this morning. I cannot believe how big they are getting. It is very calming to watch them flutter around, peck and scratch at the ground. Alex cut an opening in the wall of the coop so they can go back and forth. A couple of hours passed and Alex went to check on them. He came back in and told me he was going to build a ramp for the chickens to use to get back inside the coop. Silly birds, I guess they forgot how to use their wings.

I hope there is at least one rooster in the bunch. Even though it will be awhile yet, I am looking forward to having fresh eggs daily.

Have a wonderful day!

Laurie 8)

 

Chickens

Posted on May 9, 2014 at 6:00 PM  

   Who loves chickens? I do! I do! Who grew up taking care of chickens? I did! I did! Actually, my grandparents had the chickens. Trust me, when I say I stayed at their house as much as possible during the summer. You guessed it. I wanted to collect the eggs and take care of the chickens.

   A great friend of mine gave Alex and I thirteen chicks. I cannot wait until we start getting eggs. I love fresh eggs.

Leave a Reply

