Empty Nest!

Hi Everyone,

I am sitting outdoors trying to get some homework done. My mind keeps wandering to memories of my kids. I truly miss each and every one of them. Yes, they are all adults and yes, they don’t need their Mama as much anymore. I miss the days when they were young and innocent. I have always tried to make sure my kids came first. To me, that’s just the way it was supposed to be. My mother was a stay-at-home mom and it was nice coming home to her. I can’t remember my mother EVER putting herself first. 

So now, even though Alex and I have lived in Callao for almost a year, it’s still kind of hard living this far from my children. I have to admit that the first few months I cried and I was depressed. Trying to get used to the fact that my children are adults and they need their own lives. I am so proud of each of them. 

If those of you who are reading this, and you have your kids still with you, enjoy having them around. Before you know it, your child will have grown up without you even realizing it. 

As I sit here listening to the neighbor’s dog howl, I wonder and think where have those years gone? 

If you are going through the empty nest syndrome, don’t be ashamed or feel foolish. It’s real. Trust me when I say, crying helps. For me, writing and walking are two sources that work for me.

Enjoy your kiddos! Hug your kiddos! Tell your kiddos you love them daily!

Have a super day!

Laurie

Leave a Reply

