Dark Clouds…

It was supper time and we were sitting around the table. On the menu was liver and onions and sliced tomatoes. YUCK! all the way around!

I was sitting the furtherest from Dad for a reason. He ALWAYS made sure our plates were cleaned off before we excused ourselves from the table.

I kept moving the food around my plate trying to make it disappear. If only we had an indoor dog, I thought. No such luck. Reentering reality, I heard Dad’s voice. Unbeknownst to me, my siblings had disappeared from the table. Mom and Dad, of course, had not left.

“You best be eating those tomatoes!”Dad was saying. I looked down at my plate. What happened to the liver and onions? I thought. Hmm.. I guess I had managed to eat it…gross.

“But, Dad! I don’t like tomatoes! If I eat them, I’m gonna throw up!” Mom and Dad looked at each other.

“You can’t leave the table until those tomatoes are gone!” All I heard was blah, blah, blah from Dad. He stood up from the table and laid down on the floor.

“Mom, please, don’t make me eat this,” I whispered as I pointed at my plate.

“Just try one slice, please. You may like it,” Mom said.
I sighed and said, “Fine, but don’t be surprised when I’m…”

She interrupted me. “Just eat!”

I stabbed my fork into that nasty tomato. I gulped and somehow I had managed to swallow. Mom took my plate and said, “You may be excused.”

I walked into the living room when my tummy felt funny. I ran into the bathroom. Mom followed me. I looked at her. “I told you, Mom….”

Thank you for stopping by. May your day be full of blessings.

Laurie Jackson 🙂

Please stop by my website. Have a visit and don’t forget to sign the guestbook. 🙂

Leave a Reply

