Your Voice Will Find You

I awoke wondering if this were to be another typical day in our house. I was in the kitchen preparing my kids’ lunches when it all started.

My youngest daughter waltzed into the kitchen. I looked up from the task at hand. I sighed and told myself, “Yep, another typical day.” I said to my beautiful daughter and asked, “What is that on your face?”

She just shrugged as she grabbed a bowl out of the cabinet. “It’s called make-up, Mother! Maybe you should try it sometime.” She smirked at me. Before I could reply, another of my beautiful daughters walked in. I looked at her and then I looked up at the ceiling. I mumbled to myself, “Please, if your listening, please help me keep my control.”

That daughter decided to dress like death warmed over. She was dressed all in black with her face as pale as a ghost.

“Why are you wearing that?” I asked her.

Her reply was, “All the kids wear this, Mom. May be you should try it sometime.” Well, by now my oldest daughter had danced her way into the kitchen. She decided to wear the shortest skirt ever made to school.

“Are you sure you have all of that skirt on? It’s pretty short!” I said to her.

She put her hands on her hips and said, “Oh, Mother, seriously! Yes, all the skirt is here. Maybe you should try wearing one sometime.”

Her response and the way she said it was the last straw for me.

I pointed to my youngest daughter and said, “You, go wash that stuff off your face! You look like a raccoon! By the way, you are too young to wear make-up! Now go!” I turned to my middle daughter and told her, “Have you looked in a mirror? You look like death!” Before I could tell my other daughter to change her clothes, she said to me, “What is wrong with you, Mom? Usually you are pretty cool about stuff.”

I said, “An evil force has entered my body! No daughter of mine will ever leave the house looking the way you three look. Now, do what I say! GO!”

As the trio left the kitchen, I told myself, “Yep, just another typical day….”

Thanks for stopping by!

Laurie Jackson 🙂

Feel free to visit my website.

Leave a Reply

