12 year old Point Of View

I was sitting on my front stoop trying to relax. It’s my favorite place to be after school. I had my snack and soda by my side. I was ready to just sit and not think about anything. I heard a train rumble on down the tracks behind the house. I always wanted to ride a train.Going off to strange and wonderful new places.

I was brought out of my daydream by a loud crash from across the street. I looked over to see that the neighbor, Mr. Latches, had dropped something that had been made out of glass. There was smithereens of glass all over his driveway. I couldn’t make out quite what he was saying but it didn’t sound pleasant. His wife had exited their house when she heard the noise.

“What happened?” She yelled. (I think the entire neighborhood heard her.) Mrs. Latches threw her arms into the air. “Oh my gosh! Where’s the angel we always hang each Christmas?”

Mr. Latches looked down at the mess on the driveway. I saw him point to it. Mrs. Latches screamed and stomped her foot. “My angel! My beautiful glass angel!! What did you do?”

By this time, Mom had joined me on the stoop. “What is going on over there?” she asked me.

“I don’t know. Something broke and Mrs. Latches is upset. I think I heard her yell something about a glass angel.”

“Oh my goodness. It would be shame if it were the glass angel. It sure looked pretty all lit up,” Mom said.

“Mom, why do they start putting up Christmas decorations in the beginning of October?”

“Well, Hun, I don’t know. Every year, it seems that their display gets bigger and bigger. It takes a lot of time and energy to put up all those decorations,” Mom said.

There was another loud crash from across the street. “So much for relaxing after school,” I mumbled. “May as well go in the house.”

Mom and I stood and entered the house. As I closed the front door, there was more yelling from the neighbors.

Hope your day is full of laughter and sunshine!

Laurie Jackson 🙂

Leave a Reply

