Finite Creatures

The first time I experienced a funeral was when I was maybe six or seven. I did not understand why people were so quiet and crying. Mom tried to explain what was going on but I just did not understand.

I think it hit me when my great-grandmother died. I was 15 years.  She 101 years old. I thought wow how cool. At her funeral, I understood what was going on.

When my grandpa died, it truly hit home for me. I was much older and married. I thought Grandpa hung the moon. I thought he would live forever. I awoke during the night with a feeling that something had happened to Grandpa. I cried and cried. I didn’t like it because someday I pass on. It’s not that I’m afraid of death, I’m more concerned about my loved ones.

Since the passing of my sister, I have tried to stay positive and live each day to the fullest. I appreciate the little things in life.

Hope your day is full of blessings!

Laurie Jackson 🙂

Please feel free to visit my website. Be sure to sign the guestbook or drop me an email. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

