Out of Breath

I used to work at a golf course doing landscaping. My hours were 6am to 2pm. I had a short drive to my kids school. Picked them up by 2:45pm. We drove home and I prepared food that my kids could heat up for dinner. After that, I threw a load of laundry in the washing machine. I had to get a few hours of sleep before I went to my second job. I worked overnight from 8pm until 4:30am stocking shelves.

I kept both jobs while I could tell my body was getting worn out. I ignored that nagging little voice in my head telling me to stop working so hard. One morning, I was driving to my landscaping job when I fell asleep at the wheel. I awoke with the front tire off in the ditch. Right then and there I made a decision. I quit my landscaping job but kept my overnight job.

Things slowed down after that. I promised myself I would never have two jobs again. My health had been troubling me. I constantly had migraines. I wasn’t getting enough sleep. I was feeling like a robot.

Life has slowed down completely now. My kids are grown and on their own. Now, I am able to spend everyday with my husband and our dog.

Hope your day is full of blessings and sunshine!

Laurie Jackson 🙂

Feel free to visit my website.

Leave a Reply

