Let It Be!

Please why couldn’t one of us keep Grandma and Grandpa’s house in the family?!

I have six brothers and sisters. My grandparents and uncle had passed. A few of my siblings were so money hungry, they immediately put the farm up for sale. I tried to tell them that I would take the house and five acres. Nothing doing. Now, the house was over a hundred years old. There was no central air and not much insulation. There were cracks in the basement walls. So every time it rained, water would flood the basement. The windows in the house were the same windows when I was a child.

When I tried to talk with my siblings about the house and acreage, they told me that the house was worth $200,000. That was just for the house!! I told them they were nuts!

One day, there was a horrible storm. Roof tiles blew off the house. Paint was coming off the outside of the house. When I went to say good bye to the house, I stood in the yard and cried. There were so many, MANY memories in that house. When I looked at the house that stood in front of me, I realized it was not the same house I remembered as a child. The house had become just a building to me.

It’s been a over a year since we sold Grandpa and Grandma’s farm. I often recall memories of their home. I will always love their home that was always full of love and warmth. Thanks for the memories, Grandpa and Grandma and Elvin!!! Love and miss you all dearly!

May you feel warmth from the sunshine on your face.

Laurie Jackson 🙂

Please feel free to visit my website.

3 thoughts on “Let It Be!

  1. Agreement over matters like these is often impossible. I see your point, but letting go of the old homestead does nothing to your memories of the people and events that are tied to it. The important parts of that place are tucked safely in your heart where they can never be sold for any price!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

