Salad Days

In reference to this prompt, words my uncle used to say all the time.

“Good ole days” he would say and laugh. “They can have ’em! We worked from dawn to dusk. Rising before the rooster could get a chance to crow. Growing up on a farm was not easy, especially in those days when I was a child. Those good ole days everyone wants back? I say no thank you!”

My uncle was born with a disability. He was still the strongest man I knew. As I sit here and write this, I think about those good ole days when he was a child. It could not have been easy for anyone with a handicap in the 1930s. My uncle did not let his disability stop him from farming. He worked harder and longer than most men that had no handicap.

Now that I’m in my fifties, I almost wish I was five again. Then, I think, no way! I do not want to go through all those school years again! I love being a wife, a mom. a grandmother and a writer. I have great memories and I have not so great memories. I do not dwell on the past, only the here and now. Be happy!

May your day be filled with warm blessings!

Laurie Jackson 🙂

Please feel free to visit my website.

Leave a Reply

