Never Too Late–Thanks, Elvin

It’s never too late to say thank you.

First, I want to thank my uncle, Elvin. You may be gone but never forgotten. I think of you daily. There are so many things that I want to thank you for.

Even though you had a disability, you seemed “normal” to me. Since you were the way you were, I never thought anything was out of place. Elvin, looking back over the years, I realize now that you lived life the way you wanted to. Being born with cerebral palsy, it seemed that you could do anything. You were always so positive and happy. Very seldom did I ever see you angry. Thank you for not only showing me but also teaching me that no matter what life hands you, just keep going. Keep moving forward. You, Elvin, touched my life in such a way that even saying thank you isn’t enough.

You are still the strongest man, physically and mentally, I have ever met. Even through the toughest times, toughest struggles, you always seemed to be able to laugh. So, thank you, for teaching me to find the silver lining in horrible situations.

By the way, Unkie, even though you couldn’t walk too well, I wanted to thank you for hanging on to the back of the bike and teaching me to ride a bicycle. Thanks for the encouragement.

You will always be my hero, my inspiration. I love and miss you, Elvin!

May your day be filled with sunshine!

Laurie Jackson 🙂

Please feel free to visit my website.

Leave a Reply

