Not For Thee

The best advice I have ever received was to get my driver’s license. I did not want to get it. I was extremely uncomfortable and nervous about taking the written test. Don’t even get me started on the driving part of the test. Unlike normal 16 year olds or 151/2 year olds, I was okay with someone else taking me places. I don’t know why I was so scared. Maybe, perhaps, a tractor fell on top of my sister and me while raking hay. Or maybe because Dad had constantly asked me what I’d do if I were to be in an accident. Or maybe, perhaps, I know too many people that have been killed in car accidents.

Well, one morning, while I was out doing the chores, Mom had called my girlfriend to ask her to take me to get my driver’s test. (I had passed the written test the first time. I was stalling to take the driving part.) When I walked back into the house, Mom informed me I was not going to school. My girlfriend showed up, picked me up and we took off so that I could get my driver’s license.

By this time, I was 19. I was kind of hurt with what Mom had done. Now when I look back at that day, I am so grateful to her for forcing me to get my license. I had passed! The only mistake (besides parallel parking) was that I did not turn the blinker back on when it went off. I remember the instructor making a comment about my parking skills. It was something to the effect of “I sure hope you don’t park this way in a real parking lot.” DUH! To this day, I do not know how to parallel park.

The best thing I could have done for myself was to get my license. So, thank you, Mom!

Hope your day is full of blessings!

Laurie Jackson 🙂

Please feel free to visit my website.

Leave a Reply

