Who Am I?

Good question! I’m a mixture of emotions. My mood changes like the wind.

Why am I blogging? Well, I enjoy writing very much. I hope the readers enjoy what I write. I also hope that after reading my blogs, they would be able to tell me where I can improve. Right now, I have so many story ideas twirling around in my head, it’s hard for me to decide where to begin. I’ve been trying to put my sister’s story together so that it’s finally finished. She was such a positive little girl. I miss her daily.

I grew up on a farm outside a small town in mid-Missouri. I have five sisters and two brothers. I am a middle child. Growing up on a farm was hard. Dad worked us girls just as hard as he did the boys. Even if there was nothing for us to do outside, he wanted us outside, most of the time freezing to death. One memory I have is cutting wood in below zero weather. Snow was already on the ground and on that particular day, it was a mixture of snow and sleet. All I know is that it was cold. Dad’s favorite phrase was, “Well, if you want to stay warm, you’ll have to help cut wood. I have many memories of life on the farm. Perhaps that can be something I can blog about. Another subject to blog about is putting my grandma’s recipes on here. I have many great memories of her.

I have five wonderful adult children. They all have their own lives. I am so proud of each and every one of them. I was a stay at home mom for 18 years. I grew used to having them around me constantly. The front door always swinging back and forth. Now, we live two hours from them. I know they love me. I know that they know I love them. They know where to find me at any given moment.

I suffer from empty nest syndrome and depression. So, hopefully I can connect with those who suffer from depression or empty nest syndrome. I try to chat with God on a daily basis. Sometimes I get so self absorbed that I forget about Him. Shame on me! He has always been here for me. If it weren’t for Him, I’m not sure where I’d be today. He has given me an overabundance of blessings.

May your day be filled with sunshine and warmth.

Laurie Jackson

Please feel free to visit my website.

2 thoughts on “Who Am I?

  1. I think that by writing stories not just about your sister but also about your experiences with empty-nest syndrome and depression will connect with readers and provide you with relief. When you write, don’t just describe, Use dialogue and make the characters in your life come alive for yourself and the reader. Set the scene. Make each story about one event that represents a bigger theme without telling the reader what you are doing. That’s how you become a better writer. At least that;s what I think.

    I know that writing my memoir was a very cleaning process for me. I hope writing about the stuff that rattles around within you will be equally as cleansing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

