Simple Life

It’s 1:35 am and I am wide awake. I’m usually asleep by now. For some reason, I can’t fall asleep tonight. My mind is racing with too many story ideas and my thoughts of my children. A conversation that my sweet husband and I had before he fell asleep goes round and round in my head. Even though we spend each and every day together, at night, tucked in bed, we lie there and ask the other one how their day was. My response tonight was that my day was okay. I told him that sometimes I feel that our life is in a rut. As I sit here now, I hear the furnace on and feel the warmth from it fill the bedroom. In the distance, there is highway noise. Down the dirt road a dog barks. The house is silent, except, for the moment, the furnace. There is a night light that shines from the bathroom. Other than that, the house is dark. I am comforted by the light snoring coming from my husband. I am not alone. It is also comforting to know that God is watching over us.

Alex and I may not have a lot of money but we have each other. We have much to be thankful for. We have been blessed many, many, many times over. We laugh and love every day.

I have to admit that I miss our kids. I understand that they are all grown up with lives of their own. It’s been over a year since we moved to Callao. I get depressed sometimes. I guess I am not used to the silence of not having that constant chatter and laughter that kids make. I know our kids love us. I’m just wishing that they would come see their ole mom once in awhile.

Anyway, Alex and I have, what some would call, a simple life. We are blessed and we are happy. This is what works for us.

May you have sweet dreams!

Laurie Jackson

Please feel free to visit my website.

One thought on “Simple Life

Leave a Reply

