A Moment In Time

The last photo that I took was one of my uncle. This particular photo is of him sitting on the ground leaning against the tractor wheel. More than likely, Grandma brought him an afternoon snack out to the field.

My uncle was a great man. He was a strong man, built like a brick house. He was born with cerebral palsy. Let me just say, that disability did not slow him down at all. Yes, it took him a while for him to grasp the concept of walking but around the age of two he achieved that ability. My dad taught him how to walk. Dad helped Elvin (my uncle) to stand behind their little red wagon. Dad walked slowly around the yard with Elvin trying to learn to walk.

Elvin never married and had no kids of his own. His nieces and nephews were his children. To be honest, Elvin was more of a dad to me than my own dad. Elvin had patience with me. He also taught me how to ride a bike.

With Elvin’s disability, he taught me and my siblings to never give up. To always be strong and have confidence in ourselves. I learned so much from my wonderful, smart, and strong uncle. I miss him each and every day.

May you feel the warmth of the sun on your face.

Laurie Jackson

Please feel free to visit my website. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

