Smell of Fresh Cut Hay or Straw

Seeing and smelling fresh cut hay (especially alfalfa) brings back so many memories for me. Many, many summers we baled many, many hay bales. It was usually my uncle and my sisters, along with myself on the wagon. It was hard work and yes it was a pretty sweaty job. Working with my uncle, though, was always so much fun.

I did not like baling hay with my dad. He was always so crabby. Besides, he made me sit on top of the bales as the wagon was stacked full. There were some pretty scary times when we baled hay across the slope of a hill. Dad told me and my sister to sit on the higher side of the wagon. I’ll never forget what he told us. “Sit on the higher side of the wagon just in case we start to roll over.” Gee, Dad, thanks for the scare! Wouldn’t it have been easier to just let us off the wagon? Nope. Needless to say, my uncle drove super slow on that slope that day. And yes, I was praying the whole time to please do not let us tumble over!

Alfalfa hay bales were heavy but I used to be able to carry four bales at one time. Now, if I tried to do that, I’d probably croak. The smell of fresh straw bales makes me smile. Why? Well, one time my cousins from the “city of Washington” came over. They weren’t used to the country life. They decided to investigate the barn. What did they discover? Straw bales. Boy, did they cause a mess! They had busted strings off the straw bales and made a big straw pile. When I discovered what they had done, it was too late. My older brother had joined them in swinging from the rafters and jumping into the straw. It looked like fun to me. Of course I had to find out for myself. Looking back now, I wish I had not gone into the barn. After the cousins left that day, we were in trouble! Dad was furious! It was worth it, though!

Hope your day is filled with sunshine!

Laurie Jackson

Please feel free to visit my website. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

