A Letter To Mindy

I wrote this letter to my sister, Mindy, shortly after she passed. She struggled and battled for 11 long years with cancer. It’s hard to believe she has been gone 27 years.

I will always love you, Mindy Jo. I miss you so much!

Dear Mindy,

Hi. I feel like crying! So, I thought I’d write you a letter. I have no idea what to say. It’s just that I miss you soooo very much.I need your help. I need you back with us. I want you back with us. Please tell me that it will be okay. This is the first time I cried today. It’s so very hard to imagine that you’re in a much better place. I know you’re really happy where you’re at right now. Do me a favor, please. Keep an eye on Mom. She really misses you so much. It’s hard on everyone but it’s mostly hard on her. You two were always together. Our family is going to fall apart. You’re the one who held it together. Now I don’t know what’s going to happen.

That feeling is coming over me again. Please help me. I was at Mom’s today and it was kind of hard not seeing you there playing with your Barbie dolls. We won’t let Elmer EVER forget his Aunt Mindy. He loved you very much. He still says your name.

(This letter was written when Elmer was almost 2 years old. I was five months pregnant with my second son when Mindy passed. She was only 11 years old. She touched so many lives without even trying.)

May your day be filled with loads of blessings!

Laurie Jackson

Please feel free to visit my website. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

