Staying Positive

Even though I’ve been diagnosed with clinical depression, anxiety (panic) attacks and agoraphobia, (scared to leave the house) I’ve been working on being more positive.

It’s yet another day. I have to admit that this morning was rough for me. Some tears flowed but not as many as other days.

As I stepped out of the shower this morning, I heard this voice. I want to think it was God speaking to me. This voice told me to stand up straight and to get ready for the day. I did what I was told. I stood straighter, looked at myself in the mirror and told myself, “I love you! I am worthy!” This voice continued speaking to me in an almost stern but gentle way.

Today is the first day of the rest of my life and it will be positive! How do I know this? I trust in the Lord. I have tons of faith in him. If I fall, I know He will catch me. God never gives anyone more than they can handle. If your situation brings you to your knees, you may as well pray.

Well, I guess He thinks I can handle this stupid depression! Alright then, Lord, I accept your challenge. I will fight this depression with whatever it takes. If I need counseling, I’ll do it. If I have to take meds, I’ll take them. I will blast the radio with good old country music and dance this horrible stuff out of me! I am determined to kick all those horrible, negative people from my past out of my life. Those tears that used to fall on a daily basis are no longer! I will fight this disease with all that I have. I will come out the other side a much stronger woman because I have fought hard.

There may not be a cure for depression but I am making a promise to myself right here, right now. I promise I will not let the depression consume me. I know it’s easier said than done but I will learn to live with it. I am a worthy person!

I promise myself to be a more positive person. Look to the skies, dance in the rain, sing off key and write. I am blessed with one handsome grandson so far. I am awaiting the arrival of my beautiful granddaughter which is sometime in February. This grandma promises to spoil any grandkids that come my way.

A special thank you goes to my wonderful husband, Alex. Without him, I don’t know what I’d do or where I’d be.

Enjoy life! It’s much too short!

May your day be filled with blessings!

Laurie Jackson

Please feel free to visit my website. Thank you!

6 thoughts on “Staying Positive

  1. Hi Laurie,

    Please, before you try medication, would you try altering your diet just a little bit? I realised years ago that I got bummed out if I drank too much coffee. I heard somewhere that coffee took vitamin C out of our bodies. I wondered: If I have an orange when coffee has put me into a black mood, will that snap me out of the mood? Yes. It does.

    Like

  2. All the best Laurie.
    Living with an anxiety disorder is one of the most difficult things in life to overcome or get used to.
    You really seem like you’re on the right path and you’re very strong!
    Keep posting and staying positive 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

