Stroke of Midnight

Last night, Alex and I stayed up until midnight. We wanted to kick out 2015. We wanted to say so long! It was not a year worth remembering. There was so much negativity. I was getting tired of 2015 taking its good ole time ending. I breathed a sigh of relief when midnight arrived.

Last year, I was diagnosed with chronic depression, severe anxiety and panic attacks and agoraphobia. I had my yearly check up with my neurologist. A few years ago, an MRI showed a growth on my brain. According to Dr. Beary, my headaches have been changing. He feels that this low-grade, slow growing tumor is what is causing my headaches. So, next week I am getting another MRI to see if there have been any changes.

Anyway, I am getting off track. Today is January 1, 2016. A new year lies ahead of me. The best gift that I could ever ask for is becoming a grandmother again. My daughter is having a daughter in February! I am so excited to meet her. Her name will be Ava Rose.

This year, Alex and I have decided to write down every positive thing that happens. We are putting them in a jar. Then, at the end of the year, we will sit down and read them. We have already started today. 🙂

There are going to be challenges that I will have to overcome.  I know I will succeed. I am ready.

This year, I am going to improve on my writing by writing more. Alex gave me a wonderful idea. He suggested that I write one page a day of my sister’s story. That’s one way I may actually get it complete.

I am going to try not to worry so much about stuff I have no control over. My kids are all adults and have their own busy lives. I am at a point in my life where I can concentrate on myself and Alex. I have to tell myself that I did a great job on raising my children. They are healthy and doing well. I am a blessed woman. I plan on improving myself. I like to think that I am a positive person. I will continue to improve on that. Mom is role model. She is 77 and going strong. With God, Mom and Alex by my side, I’ll be just fine.

So, 2016, whatever you have in store for me, bring it on!

Happy New Year!

God bless!

Laurie Jackson

Leave a Reply

