Someone(s) I Miss

There are so many people that I miss.

Mindy Jo – She is my little sister that is in Heaven. She died almost 28 years ago. Geesh, where has the time gone.

She was born with a rare type of eye cancer, retinoblastoma. She was my hero while she was alive. She is still my hero even though she is in Heaven. She lived in her own Hell while she was with us. Not once did I hear her complain. Whenever I saw her, she always wore a smile upon her beautiful scarred face.

Yes, she lost her sight but all her other senses kicked in. One in particular was her hearing. I don’t think I’ll ever forget the time I walked into the family room. She was sitting in front of her huge Barbie doll house. She had her back to me. Before I could say hi, she said hi to me. I laughed and asked her how she knew it was me. She chuckled and said that I had a certain walk. Everybody does. She could tell by the way I walked. Smart little girl.

I sat down beside her and hugged her. I noticed that she had doll clothes all around her with a dress in her hands. I asked her what she was doing. She said that she was looking for a certain dress. In this case, feeling and touching for a certain dress. I asked her to describe it to me.  Maybe I could help. She smiled and said that was okay, she had this.

I feel that God gave Mindy to my family for a reason. Even though she had such a short life, (11 years) she definitely changed my life. She left her “mark” on all of us. Mindy gave out the best hugs.

Did I learn something from her? Oh yeah! NEVER take life for granted. Always hug the ones you love. Never forget to tell your family and friends that you love them. She also taught me how to laugh at myself. It is okay to be human and make mistakes.

I’ll never understand why God took her from us at such a young age. He works in mysterious ways. I find myself lately thinking of her and how different it would be if she were still with us.

We held her wake for two days. Both days, it was standing room only. It was overwhelming how many people showed up. People left and more people came in. The day of her funeral was the same way. Chairs were in the aisle. There were just as many people standing outside the church as there were inside. The speakers were on in the church hall for people to listen.

I love you, Mindy Jo!!! Miss you like crazy!!! My promise to you is that I will finish the story I have started about you.

Grandpa “Shorty” – He has been gone just as long as Mindy has. He was my Godfather. Back then, I believe they were called “Sponsors”. He was a huge man. Six plus feet tall and solid as a rock. When he was healthy, I bet he weighed at least 350. He was not fat in any way, shape or form. He was all muscle. I can only imagine how hard he worked as a farmer and also at a rock quarry (which is now known as Klondike Park). Grandpa took us on a tour of Klondike Quarry before it became a park. It was pretty interesting. We were able to collect some of the sand rocks, too.

I used to sit on the fender of the tractor whenever Grandpa had to rake hay. He and I would sing “Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush”. He said we had to sing it because it felt that we were always going around in circles.

I don’t think Grandpa was a religious man but he did go to church every week. He was on the church board for many years.

Grandma Helen – I spent many summers at her house. She taught me so much. My joy for cooking and baking came from her. She taught me how to sew my first button on a shirt. I’ll have to do a blog on just her one of these days.

Elvin – It’s hard to believe that he’s been gone for so many years already. I can’t even begin to tell you about him. He, too, will have to be written in a separate blog. He was a good man.

Kat- She was my daughter’s Godmother. Talk about a crazy lady but in a good way. She was taken from us way too soon.

Hope your day is full of laughter!

Laurie Jackson

 

Leave a Reply

