So Many Years Ago

Who was my idol? Did I idolize anyone? No, not really.

I grew up listening to Elvis Presley. I enjoyed watching him in movies. He was cute but I can’t say that I went gaga over him.

Kenny Rogers was one of my favorite singers. I had every record that he came out with. I knew each song by heart. Dolly Parton, Reba McEntire, Tammy Wynette and Helen Reddy were also some of my favorites.

Now, Tom Selleck had a show called, “Magnum PI”. That was my favorite show. Why? He was so gorgeous. (And still is today.) I have to confess. I had a poster of him over my bed. What can I say? I was young and silly. My husband teases me about Tom Selleck. Friday nights, there’s a show called “Blue Bloods”. Tom Selleck is the star. My husband teases me because I need to get my “fix”.

My husband says the same thing about Mark Harmon. He’s someone else I enjoy watching on television. Mark Harmon has a show called, “NCIS”. It’s a great show. Mark Harmon is fun to watch.

Dan Fogelberg was an amazing singer. His song, “Run For the Roses” was definitely my favorite song. One time I was shopping with friends. I came across one of his albums. I kind of screamed. Everyone around me kind of looked at me like I was nuts. Oh well!!I listened to that song over and over. It finally wore out.

Gordon Lightfoot was a great storyteller with his songs. My kids listened to his songs and were immediately hooked.

I hope your day is filled with laughter.

Laurie Jackson

 

Leave a Reply

