Witness Protection

When you do something scary or stressful — bungee jumping, public speaking, etc. — do you prefer to be surrounded by friends or by strangers? Why?

I prefer to be surrounded by strangers. Why? Well, if I make a fool of myself, I know I will never see these people again.

An example:

Last June, Alexander and I went zip-lining. Yes, that’s correct, zip-lining.

When Alex first told me he had set a date for us to go zip-lining, I was excited. The closer we got to the date, the more nervous I got.

Alex and I were the last ones to cross the sway bridges, besides our guide. I believe there were twelve of us. There were seven bridges to cross to get to the first jump off tower. I kept telling myself not to look down. I ended up looking down a couple of times. At first I thought it wasn’t too bad. Wrong! My head started spinning. Yep! I am scared to death of heights!!

When my turn finally up, I told the guide that I would probably scream. He said a lot of people scream and worse. He hooked up and told me to go. As I took that step off, I screamed, “I love you, Alexander Maxwell Jackson!!!” When I reached the next tower, the people laughed at me. I didn’t care. One lady asked me why I was zip-lining if I was scared of heights. I told her that it was on my bucket list. She just smiled at me.

The next tower I didn’t scream. I enjoyed the ride and the view. By the time we got to the last tower, I was almost disappointed that it was over already. At the end of the day, it had not felt like we had gone zip-lining at all. That it was just a dream. I did enjoy it and am thinking about going zip-lining again sometime.

Anyway, being surrounded by strangers would be better for me. If they want to talk about me and how I reacted, well, so be it. With people that I know, they can talk about me behind my back, which is fine. They can also make comments to my face. No thanks!

Enjoy life and don’t let people get to you!

God bless!

Laurie Jackson

 

 

 

One thought on “Witness Protection

  1. Zip-lining, huh? Brave lady!

    For me, I would want people I know and love around me in stressful situations. If I succeeded, I would want to share the happy times; if I failed, I know they would make me feel better and we would all laugh about it later anyway. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

