If I Could Turn Back Time

If you could return to the past to relive a part of your life, either to experience the wonderful bits again, or to do something over, which part of you life would you return to? Why?

If I had the ability to turn back time, I definitely would.

Just to be able to spend one more minute with Grandpa. To be able to sing with him just one more time. Singing “Here We Go Round the Mulberry Bush” while raking hay. That was our time together.  He had a deep voice. One thing is for sure, he did not care who heard him sing.  Grandpa Shorty had a wonderful voice. He may have been a big man but he was a teddy bear at heart. Grandma Helen had him wrapped around her little finger.

I loved being in the kitchen with Grandma Helen. She taught me so many things. One thing she taught me was how to sew a button on. The first time I tried, it was all wrong. I had gone out to check for eggs. When I came back in, she chuckled at me and told me to start over. Somehow, I had managed to sew the button on but was unable to button the shirt! One time, she and I had made a cake. I don’t remember which ingredient we had forgotten to add. After the cake came out of the oven, it didn’t look right. It still tasted goo, though. Grandma and I had a good laugh over that. Grandpa still ate it.

To be able to spend more time with Elvin. He was my uncle. He was born with a disability but he sure didn’t let anything stop him. He stood at least 6’4″ and thin as a rail. He was so strong. Baling hay may have been hard but Elvin always made it fun. He would always drive the tractor. Me and my sisters would always be on the wagon stacking the bales. He had a radio on the tractor. We used to sing to the music. He taught me to not to sweat the small stuff. He always wore a smile.

My sister, Mindy Jo. What a precious creature. She was taken from us way too soon. To have one of her hugs one more time.  To see her beautiful smile just one more time. I often wonder how life would be if she had been born healthy. Or even if she had won her battle with cancer.  She lived in her own little hell here on earth. She was another one that taught me so much about life.

If I could turn back time, I would love to make my children babies again. I was blessed with four sons and one daughter. They grew up way too fast. Just give me the chance to rock them and sing to them again. Being a mom is the best job ever. It is hard work but at the end of the day when your child gives you a hug and kiss, well, that’s just wonderful. I miss reading to them and tucking them in at night. Those four little words, “I love you, Mommy,” at bedtime always made me feel blessed and grateful.

Life is way too short to be negative. Enjoy each day to the fullest. Enjoy your friends and family. Don’t be afraid to hug and say I love you to those who mean the most to you.

May your day be filled with blessings!

Laurie Jackson

 

Leave a Reply

