Thus Far

Do I have a tattoo? Yes, just one, thus far. Growing up, all I heard was that tattoos were bad. Tattoos were bad for the skin. I had heard scary stories about people who got tattoos and how much it hurt. My love for needles is nil. I hated the thought of a needle putting ink on my body that would be permanent. Somehow, though, my daughter convinced me to get a tattoo on my arm.

I think it has been three years now since Adele and I have “matching tattoos.” Her’s reads Baby Bear because that is what I call her. Mine is Mama Bear because that is what she calls me. I always said, also, that if anyone messes with my kids or grandkids, these Mama Bear’s claws were going to come out.

My son, Kyle, was the first of my kids to get a tattoo. He has the date of my uncle’s death tattooed on the back of his shoulder. My siblings and my mom were up in arms so to speak, until they understood what the date stood for. They could not believe that I would allow my son to put permanent ink on his body. When they were told what the date meant, they calmed down. Good grief! He also has his son’s name tattooed on the inside of his arm.

My son, Elmer, has wings on both sides of his ankles. He liked the design and wanted them. He was old enough to make that kind of decision. So who was I to say no?

My daughter, Adele, has three tattoos. She has a cross with the date of her godmother’s death on it. Adele was only 6 years old when Kat passed away. She was a funny woman. Adele loved her to pieces. The other tattoo Adele has is five stars running down the outside of her other leg. Each star is painted something different to distinguish each of her brothers. It looks pretty awesome. Her third one is Baby Bear, to match mine. When Ava is older, I want to add “grand” to my tattoo representing that I am, of course, grandma. Adele will add “Mama” to her’s and Ava will get Baby Bear. I think that would be pretty cool.

I suffer from depression. A couple of weeks ago, I was scrolling through Facebook when I came across an article about someone else suffering with depression. On her arm was a tattoo that read, “I will not give in” with an anchor beside the words. I thought what a great saying for me. I showed my husband and agreed with me that I need to get that on my arm. A few days after that, I came across a different article about how this person, too, was suffering with depression. On her leg was a tattoo that read “I’m fine” when you look at it. From this person’s point of view, it reads “Save me”. I am also thinking about getting that tattoo as well.

I won’t get any huge tattoos like some people have. I don’t think I could handle that much pain.

Well, I hope you have a blessed day!

Laurie Jackson

Leave a Reply

