My Name

My name is Laurie Adele. Was I named after someone? Yes, I was named after my mom’s mom. Her name was Laura Adele.

Would I change my name? No. It’s the name my parents gave me. Besides, I like my name now. Growing up, though, I didn’t so much. I grew to like my name. I was always told that Adele was an old name.

I actually named my daughter Adele. When my sisters and I were pregnant, they used to tease me that they were going to name their daughter Adele. They didn’t.

The grandma that I was named after and I were not close. She lived in Washington, (which has nothing to do with why we were never close.) In her eyes, I always felt that I was not good enough. I always felt that I was looked down upon.

She lived to be almost 100 years old. I believe she died three days before her birthday. What cracked me up was the fact that she loved beer. She had a beer everyday or almost everyday.

Stay warm, my friends!

Laurie Jackson

Leave a Reply

