Precious Treasure

I haven’t blogged the last few days because our beautiful granddaughter has arrived. I’d say finally! but she was actually a few days early. She was born on the 19th but wasn’t due until the 23rd.

Let me start from the beginning. My daughter started having labor pains Thursday afternoon/evening. We convinced them to go to the hospital to get checked. Nurse Crachet sent them home, though. She did not bother contacting the doctor and telling her what was going on. That ticked me off. It was about 2:30 am when Adele and Blake arrived back home. I tried to sleep but it was more like dozing.

The next morning, I get a text message from Blake telling me that they were headed back to the hospital. Adele was having contractions all night and had not slept at all. A few hours later, we get a message telling us that Adele was getting her epidural and for us to come to the hospital.

To make a long story short, Alex and I were at the hospital all afternoon. Adele laid in her bed playing on her phone. Alex and I watched the contractions on the monitor. She did not feel any of them. Her only complaint was that her legs were numb.

I am so proud of Adele. Her active (pushing) labor lasted from 30 minutes to 45 minutes. The doctor, nurse, Blake and I had her laughing in-between contractions. It was great. Before we knew it, Ava Rose came into the world.

She weighed 7 lbs. 1 oz. , 19 1/2″ long. Time of birth was 7:19pm. Friday was the 19th. We all think that 7 and 19 will be her luck numbers. She has ten perfect little toes and ten perfect little fingers, although they are long. She also has strawberry blonde hair.

Watching my daughter give birth was such an amazing experience. I was thrilled that she wanted me by her side. I teased her Friday that Alex and I were going to go home. She looked at me sharply like please don’t. She kept telling me that she needed me. If anyone asks you to be in the delivery room with them, say yes. Don’t pass up the experience.

I felt my eyes dampen the first time I saw Ava. I felt and still feel very blessed. I am a happy grandma.

Have a wonderful day!

Laurie Jackson

 

Leave a Reply

