My Addiction

I have an addiction. There, I’ve said it! Am I proud of this addiction? Eh. It could be worse.

What in the world am I talking about? Let me tell you. I am addicted to words. I have always enjoyed words. Even waaaaay back in grade school. I didn’t realize it, though, until after high school. Funny how that works.

Words and writing….my addiction. I do not always get the opportunity to write. I have to admit that sometimes I start to write something and I get tired. My energy level suddenly drops and I have to quit. By the time I go back to what I started, my idea is gone. My train of thought has left the station.

Sometimes, when I am in the middle of writing and buzzing along, getting those words on paper, another idea decides to pop in. Then, I have to stop and write that idea down. I try to tell myself that I won’t forget that story line. I have to laugh at myself. I remind myself that I am old. My memory is not what it used to be. I have to write everything down. I have no choice. There have been too many times that an idea had come to me but I didn’t bother to write it down. Boy, was I ticked off at myself.

Most ideas have come to me at night, when I am snuggled in bed. I tell myself that I’ll remember in the morning. Do I remember? Of course not! Do I bother to put a notebook and pen by my bed? No. Well, I have a pen but no paper. Silly me. Perhaps I should write the idea down on the wall. I’m sure my husband would just love that.

Well, I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I have enjoyed writing it!

Have a blessed day!

Laurie Jackson

 

 

One thought on “My Addiction

Leave a Reply

