Shape Up Or Ship Out!

Dear Personality Traits,

Some of you are doing what you are supposed to do. Others—well, not so much. Some of you are slacking. Those that are slacking—here’s a message for you:

SHAPE UP OR SHIP OUT!!

Ms. Negative Pants: Just what are you trying to do to me? I hate negativity!! How many times do you have to be told?! Why do you continue to creep in? I have to admit that I used to be negative aboutĀ everything.Ā 

I had a very negative dad. The man was never happy unless he had something to complain about. He was down on himself and he took it out on us. It seems, unfortunately, I have inherited his negative attitude. I am working on changing that, though. By the grace of God, I will become the most positive person around.

Like I said earlier, I was Negative Nancy. One day, I woke up and I told myself no more. Ms. Negative Pants, you are wearing me out! Ā I am learning to find the silver lining in everything. Thanks to my mother, I am learning to be more positive.

What’s up with you, Self-Esteem? How dare you creep into my mind and start telling me that I am not a worthy person! I am who I am. I may not be the smartest person around but I am not stupid.

I am getting worn out from hearing that voice inside my head. You know the one, the one that repeats itself over and over. The voice that sometimes laughs at me. The voice that says what are you thinking? You can’t write! What a joke! I can start so many times on a story and that voice starts in. Instead of ignoring it, like I know I should, I give up. That voice is one of the reasons that I have not finished my sister’s story.

Anger, my gosh. I’ll be the first to admit that I have a horrible temper. When someone else is angry, it usually rubs off on me. Unfortunately, the person closest to me at the time will become my scapegoat. I’ll find the stupidest thing to argue over.

Tears, give me a break. You come out of nowhere. You feel like two streams flowing down my cheeks. Any little thing makes you appear. I have two words for you: STOP IT!!!

Dear Depression, shame on you. For always trying to bring me down. No more! I will not sink into that deep dark abyss no longer! No matter how “pretty” you make it look. I refuse to give into you. I refuse! Do you hear me?? I will fight you til my dying day and with my last breath. I will not give up.

Wow! Do I feel better.

Each day I will count my blessings. Each day I will thank God for them.

Have a blessed day!

Laurie Jackson

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Shape Up Or Ship Out!

  1. Hope all those recalcitrant characters listened! Remember, without the darkness, we’d never notice the light. šŸ˜‰ I guess I’ve just learned to be kind to every part of myself and hope the not-so-fun elements don’t show up at parties and other events! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

