Road Less Traveled

Sometimes I wonder what my life would be like if I had gone to college right after high school. Would I be a published author? Would my sister’s story be written? Would it be out there for all the world to read?

My dad wanted all of his kids to go to college. He was upset with me when I said I wasn’t going. (He did not go to college.) I was done with school. I barely survived high school. Why the hell would I want to put myself into more schooling? I wasn’t that crazy. A close friend at my graduation party told me that I should do what works for me. Get out in the real world and work.

Now that I’ve been out of high school for 35 years, (Man, I feel old…) I have a small amount of regret for not going to college. Instead, I married and had children. I was blessed to stay home and raise them. (I guess you could say that was God’s plan for me at the time.) Trust me when I say I would not have changed a thing. My children are my life. No doubt about it.

After 23 years of marriage, I was divorced. The man I am married to now, makes my dreams come true. When he found out that I wanted to become a published writer, he suggested that I go back to school. I did and I do not regret it. I did online classes that lasted for 32 long months. It was a struggle for me because it took me way out of my comfort zone. I did assignments that I did not think I could do. I know if my wonderful husband had not been by my side, I would not have survived. It was quite the experience. I learned so much about writing and myself.

It is never too late to follow your dreams. Believe in yourself. Stay positive! Take that first step. You might just surprise yourself. I know I did. Surprise myself, I mean.

Take that leap of faith. Follow that road less traveled. It may be just what you were looking for.

Have a blessed day!

Laurie Jackson

Leave a Reply

