Homeschool Anyone?

When my kids were little, we lived in an area in which we were not comfortable sending them to a public school. We heard all kinds of horrible stories about drugs, etc. within that school district.

Well, we decided that I should homeschool. I was relieved. When my siblings heard what I was going to do, they called me crazy. They thought I  had suddenly went insane. They looked at me like I had just grown three heads. Oh well. I wanted my kids to be safe.

There was a woman who lived around the area that homeschooled her kids. I had known her for many years. So, we went to her home and oh my gosh. There were stacks of paper everywhere. I kid you not. There were stacks of paper on tables and on the floor in practically every room. There were pathways just big enough to put one foot in front of the other. I asked her about the papers. She called it her organized mess. I had to laugh.

Anyway, she gave me suggestions and tips.  She told me that one thing I had to make sure to do was read out of the bible during each session. She also told me that I did not have to just have school at the kitchen table.  She said I could either order and buy expensive books for the kids to work out of. Or, I could design my own school work. After much research and decision making, I went with making my own books for school. I created my own alphabet letters from felt. I created my own spelling tests that was age related. I came up with math problems for my sons to figure out. We went to the library to check out books. We had a certain time of day where I was read to. Some days we played outside and threw a ball around. During that time, I had them figure out math problems in their heads.

My oldest son was almost 6 years old. He was (and still is) very smart for his age. He could read before the age of five. (I promise I had nothing to do with that.) So to keep him challenged, was a bit of a struggle. He became bored easily.

My second son was almost 5 years old. He wanted to do what his big brother was doing. I remember once while giving my oldest a verbal math quiz, he gave the answer before my oldest had a chance.

I usually had school in the mornings. When we sat at the kitchen table, I had a son on either side of me with one on my lap. I also had a son in the playpen right beside the table. And, yes, I was pregnant with my beautiful daughter at the time.

I started with prayer, having each of the boys say what they wanted. We sang songs and danced. We worked on math problems and spelling words. We had reading time. We went outside to find bugs and talk about what we found. We looked at nature. We collected leaves and made projects.

One thing I was told was to keep track of anything and everything we did. By the time we moved back to my home town, there were boxes upon boxes of school stuff. I could not depart with anything simply because my kids did it.

When I signed my kids up for public school, my oldest started in second grade. My second son started in kindergarten. Both of their teachers were pleasantly pleased with how smart my boys were. The teachers were impressed when I told them that I had homeschooled them.  My boys were advanced to the class ahead of in certain subjects. Again, they were easily bored.

Do I regret homeschooling my kids? Not a chance. I’d do again in a heartbeat. I’d probably do it longer than what I did. It was a challenge but I loved every moment of it. I miss those days. I feel somewhat proud because of the start they had with me.

One more thing, I am so very proud of all my children and how they turned out. (My oldest will be 30 this year.)

If you are thinking about homeschooling, do it. You won’t regret it. It is quite the experience.

Have a blessed day!

Laurie Jackson

 

 

Leave a Reply

