Where Do You Live?

Where do you live? Is it quiet there? Or is it noisy? Do you live in the country or in a big city? Me? I’ve lived several different places, all in Missouri.

My husband and I took a trip to Colorado to check out a city. I cannot remember the name. Two of our friends asked us to move out there with them. While my husband and I were in Colorado, I was ill. The altitude bothered me super horrible. I was throwing up and all that. Needless to say, we did not move out to Colorado.

I grew up on a farm on the outskirts of a small town. Everyone knew you by name and what family you belonged to. Heaven forbid if you did anything wrong or caused trouble. That’s why I always tried to behave. I knew Dad would eventually find out.

Whenever anyone asks me about my past and my childhood, I tell them that I literally grew up under a rock. True story! We rarely went anywhere as a family. We were rarely allowed to have friends spend the night. To be honest, I really did not want any friends over because of the way Dad was.

When Alex and I first got together, he moved into the house I had in Marthasville. It was way too big for us. We sold it and moved to the other side of Washington. It was in a trailer park. The neighbors were not pleasant to be around. We moved to Washington into a small apartment. It was just big enough for us but two of my sons ended up moving in, as well. They slept on the floor because it was just a one bedroom apartment. Let’s just say it was rather cozy.

Rent went up and we bought property in a tiny town called Callao. It was smaller than Augusta. Talk about a one horse town. It wasn’t that bad. The house we bought needed so much work. With my husband suffering from CFS, he just could not get it done. I was losing patience. Since it was a two and half hour drive, I never saw (rarely) saw our kids. Anyone who knows me, knows that family (our kids and grandkids) are extremely important to me.

So, we sold our property in Callao and moved to Washington. We bought a mobile home and are living in a mobile home park. We get to see our grandson couple of times a week. Right now, our daughter, her boyfriend and our granddaughter is living with us. I guess you could say I am in 7th heaven.

With my first husband, we moved from Augusta to Josephville, back to Augusta to Warrenton, and back to Augusta. Yes, we moved a couple of times within Augusta.

I thought when Alex and I moved into this mobile home park, I would not want to move again. I am in my early 50s and quite frankly tired of moving. Unfortunately, our neighbors are within arms reach. We can hear noise coming from inside their home even with our windows closed.

Remember, I grew up on a farm with plenty of open spaces to run and explore. Here, not so much. There seems to be constant traffic and kids yelling. There is a skate park nearby, as well. We hear sirens more than a few times a day.

Guess time will tell with what we will do. It’s a mystery. 🙂

Have a blessed day!

Laurie Jackson

Leave a Reply

