No Envy Here

There’s no envy here, I promise.

I’d like to think I’ve outgrown that stage of my life.

I am finally at my happy place in life. I am so blessed. My cup runneth over with blessings. For starters, I have a wonderful husband. He shows his love for me on a daily basis. He is the love of my life. He treats me like a queen. He is so respectful. He is my best friend, my lover. For the most part, he actually hears what I am saying.

I have been blessed with six wonderful children. Each one has grown into fantastic adults. I could not be prouder of them. Each one is about as different as the other. I would not want them any other way. I have also been blessed with two terrific grandchildren. I have a healthy grandson who is 7 years old already!! I also have a beautiful healthy granddaughter. She is almost a month old. Time sure does fly.

I am blessed because I still have my mother around. She is my rock, my role model, my hero. She raised eight children. Even with my baby sister ill, Mom always made time for all of us. I do not know how she did it.

I am blessed to have one great friend. She is my best friend. We’ve known each other for almost 25 years. She and I can go weeks without talking. Each time we do, it’s like no time has passed. We can pick up the conversation from where we stopped the last time we talked. I just love that kind of friendship.

Alex and I do not have money. I do not care. We have each other. That’s what matters most. For the most part, we are healthy. We have a roof over our heads and clothes on our backs. We have food to eat and a bed to sleep in.

Okay, okay. I used to be envious of anyone who had a wonderful dad. I did not. He did not drink or smoke. He did take out his anger fits on us four older ones. He had a bad day, we were spanked. He did not like your response, we were spanked. When we were in church and one of us made the slightest noise, we were spanked. He did not just spank us but he also belittled us. He called us names.

Have a super day!

Laurie Jackson

 

Leave a Reply

