Enjoy Life

Don’t put your life on a shelf! Get out and enjoy the weather! Explore the world, if you can. Travel, if you can afford it. Or take day trips to places close to home.

Don’t sit on a shelf and think about doing anything.  Don’t let yourself get dusty from sitting too long. Just do it! Life is way too short. It’s way too short for negativity. It’s way too short for complaining. My husband and I literally live from month to month with no money left over for “fun” stuff like go to the movies. So, we create our own fun. The river is within reason from our home. We drive there and just people watch. Or we just sit and watch the water flow by. There is even a walking trail that we sometimes travel down. We are outside and getting fresh air. We are enjoying ourselves. We may not have much but we do have each other. We laugh every day.

Don’t sit and watch your life go by!

I wanted to go back to school. So, I did. I, now have my BFA (Bachelor’s Degree in Fine Arts.) Why did I do that? Just to see if I could do it. I am even contemplating getting my Masters degree. Why? Simply because I want to. It’s never too late to achieve a goal you may have. Believe in yourself and go for it!

I am 53 years old. I am tired of waiting for that right moment to do something. Guess what! There never is going to be that “right” moment. Well, no, I take that back. Right now is the right time to do it.

I suffer from chronic depression. It is a struggle each and every day. I will not let it get me down. I have too much living to do. I choose to be happy.

I was a quiet, shy kind of child growing up. I was scared to death to anything wrong.  In my first marriage, I was submissive. After my divorce, I promised myself that I would be true to myself. No more going along with the crowd. My children are grown. They do not need me as much now. They all have their own lives.

So, I plan on spoiling my husband and my grandchildren. Give them all the love I have inside. I enjoy life. When I die, there will be skid marks leading into my grave. I ain’t going down without a fight. I’ll have a smile on my face. I can hear my kids now say, “Yep, that’s our Mama! She was crazy (in a good way) but she lived life to the fullest.”

May your day be filled with tons of blessings!

Laurie Jackson

Leave a Reply

