Help?

Not me! I do not need anyone’s help! Or at least I thought so…

When I worked overnight stocking shelves, I refused to ask for help. I had the heaviest aisle. I was going to show my boss and everyone that I could do it! What a mistake!! One night, I had two full pallets that were maybe nine feet tall. (Seriously, no joke.) Plus, about eleven carts (not shopping carts) that were stacked full. It’s kind of hard to describe the carts. We were being timed, as well. We had to write down the time we actually started and the time we finished. My job consisted of pulling carts out to the floor, stocking shelves, taking care of the cardboard from my aisle with taking breaks every two hours. Lunch was an hour, if you liked it or not. We also had to zone the shelfs. Also, we had to stock the stuff that was brought out to us from the back room. (Make them look nice and full.) All within 8 hours. This particular night, I just could not do it all myself. Needless to say, one pallet was not touched. Every cart was done with one of the pallets about 1/4 done. I asked for help. My boss kind of just laughed at me. “I’ll send help when I can.” Whatever! I did not get help at all. My boss got upset with me because I did not get everything done. There was absolutely no overtime. I just shrugged my shoulders and told her oh well. She didn’t care for me anyway. She picked on me constantly. Probably because I could out work her. She was not a nice person. I learned from that night. I learned to stop trying to do it all. I learned that it is okay to ask for help.

Mom raised us with the attitude of if you want something done right, just do it yourself. I guess that’s why I am the way I am. It’s just easier for me to do whatever it is that needs to be done.

Anyway, do not be ashamed to ask for help.

Have a blessed day!

Laurie Jackson

 

Leave a Reply

