Bookmobile?

I might be aging myself…    Does it still exist?

What is a bookmobile? It’s a library on wheels.

I grew up in a rural area in central Missouri. This was back in the ’60’s and early ’70’s. I don’t know why there wasn’t a library at that time.

I think the mobile library came once a week. (I’m not sure anymore. I’m old and I can’t remember.)  😉

Just getting to go into town was a treat. I grew up on a farm. At that time, Mom didn’t know how to drive. Every Thursday, my uncle came to pick us up in his car. We piled in and off we went to town. Each of us received a quarter to buy a bag of candy. After our little shopping spree, we were allowed to go into the bookmobile.

Two books each, children! Mom used to say. Two! Just two, Mom? C’mon! Please? Can I get more than that? She explained to me that there were other children that liked books, too. I had to share the bookmobile with others. So, two books, it was. As we grew older, we were allowed three. I enjoyed reading mystery stories such as The Nancy Drew and the Parker Brothers series. I could relate with Laura Ingalls Wilder and her life. I read every single one of her books over and over.

The driver of the bookmobile used to read us a story under the big shade tree. It was great fun sitting in the grass listening to her read. She used different voices for each character, too. I loved it! As I listened, I was drawn into the story. My imagination went crazy!

Since this during the summer, Mom let us read for awhile after we arrived back home. She loved to read. She always said that was her entertainment. She never had the opportunity to read until after us kids and Dad were in bed.

Such great memories!

Have a wonderful day!

Laurie Jackson

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

